TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Antec Take-4 Rackmount Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

While not for everyone, rackmount systems simplify your multicomputer installations and add security. Antec's Take-4 gets investigated.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 21, 2012 7:46 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_23_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

With our 6-in-1 in place and the easily accessible 5.25" bay back in we can start our build.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_25_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Although confined to 4U and the size limits of a rackmount, Antec managed to give us quite a bit of room for the motherboard. In my two servers I'm using Gigabyte X58A-UD7 boards with ATX form factors. There is enough room for EATX if you need it and maybe even a little more.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_26_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard isn't butted up against the side of the case so your 8-pin power wire can go under the fan and not rest on the motherboard. The case fan wires can also fit along the same path. The cooling fans are set so they cool the power regulation circuits and also exhaust the hot CPU air.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_27_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even with a fully modular power supply, we had a lot of spare cable length to get out of the way. With the air duct removed we had room to push most of the spare cabling into a corner.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_28_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

I've never been very good at cable management; this is about as good as it gets for me.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_29_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

In each system we have seven SSDs, two 6-port gigabit NICs, 48GB of Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz RAM and when in use peg all of the CPU cores to 100%. The Noctua coolers are standard practice in my office, but they don't fit well in a 4U case. We can't put the case covers on, but there is no reason to break from tradition, all of my case covers are neatly stacked in a corner of my office.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_30_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

This server is ready for production.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below