TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,450 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7 Motherboard

We have a look at the great looking GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7 and check out the performance of the new Z77 model.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 8, 2012 5:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_12_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the board straight away I'm a huge fan of the black and orange color scheme. Of course color scheme are always going to be something personal, but what's nice about the GIGABYTE setup is that it's unique and is something that we don't really see from other makers. Let's move in a bit closer, though, to see just what exactly is going on with the GIGABYTE Z77X-UP7.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_13_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in a bit closer you can see we've got five PCIe x16 slots which support up to four way SLI and CrossFireX. Along with the PCIe x16 slots you can see we've got two PCIe x1 slots to round off the connectivity

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_14_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving across to the bottom of the board we can see the normal line up of connectors including audio, com, USB 2.0, USB 3.0, Front Panel and fan headers. Along with all this you can also see the LED Debug reader towards the right side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_15_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of 10 SATA ports present. We've got two SATA II ports and four SATA III ports that all run off the Intel chipset while four more SATA III ports are present which run off the Marvell 88SE9172 controller. You can also see behind we've got an mSATA connector, a SATA power connector for extra power and down the bottom a reset button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_16_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the top half of the board you can see we've got a lot going on. As usual we've got our four DIMM slots and below that we've got the main 24-pin ATX power connector. Between that we've also got another USB 3.0 header. On the right side we've got a bunch of buttons that help increase both the multiplier and the BCLK while the OC Gear button does BCLK stepping.

 

Also present is a power button and next to that we have a switch for LN2 mode and a button that will reset the CMOS button. Finally we finish off with a bunch of little connectors which are used to get the voltage of certain areas with the help of the included voltage connectors in the bundle.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_17_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_18_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the other end of the board you can see we've got two 8-pin CPU power connectors for people who need an extreme amount of clean power. You can also see we've got another fan header here. Moving back a little we get an idea of what's going on with the heatsink and CPU area. Like most motherboards these days it's super clean around here and looks great with the black and orange color scheme.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5045_19_gigabyte_z77x_up7_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish with the I/O side of things and you can see we've got a total of six USB 3.0 ports and the combo PS2 connector. Display options are on offer via D-SUB, DVI-D, HDMI and DisplayPort while an optical audio port is also present. We've got two Gigabit networking ports with one running off the Intel controller and the other off an Atheros controller. Finally we finish up with six auxiliary ports which run off the Realtek ALC898 codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases