TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,048 Reviews & Articles | 38,913 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)

InWin GRone Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

InWin went back to the drawing board, again, and gets really close to perfection in the GRone full-tower chassis. Enthusiasts, sit up and take notice.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 5, 2012 3:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: InWin

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_34_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Sadly the front bezel has the I/O panel mounted to it, but this is why they made the bay covers and the dust filter on the front removable from the outside. In reality, unless you need to remove the steel bits from the 5.25" bays, you don't really need to be in here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_35_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Installing the optical drive is simple. Remove the bay cover and pull out the side pins. Then you slide in the drive, lock in the pins, and the drive is securely installed. I wish it would sit a bit further forward though, sitting back behind the bay covers just looks a bit funny.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_36_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing both hard drive racks allows for much better cooling potential inside of the GRone. Also notice that the HIS Radeon HD 7950 video card has plenty of room in this chassis and there is plenty of room for multiple radiators and the equipment that comes along with it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_37_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is nothing really special to discuss about the back, but that is a good thing. The I/O shield, video card and the PSU all install easily with little effort or flex to deal with near the expansion slots.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_38_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I was a little disappointed with what I did here. While trying to keep the inside super clean for a nice looking view through the window, I really made a rats nest due to the lack of provided options to tie wiring to.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_39_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Packaged back up, and surprisingly the right side panel went over all of that wiring with very little effort, I was easily able to get it back into place since it hinges in the front. Soak it all in before we power the GRone up to see what happens then.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_40_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front I/O panel comes to life with the solid red glow of the ring around the power button. I was also able to capture the drive activity, amber LED, as it was lit during the boot process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_41_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I really like that even with such a large window used in the GRone, that once you power it up you only look at the components and get most of the red LED fan attached to the hard drive cage clearly visible on the right edge, but none of the bay structure.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5040_42_inwin_grone_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back and looking directly into the front of the GRone, you can now see the pair of 140mm red LED fans glowing through the mesh. One nice feature of these fans is that when you slow them down with the switch, only the fan speed reduces, not the intensity of the LEDs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases