TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,667 Reviews & Articles | 36,025 News Posts

Enermax Hoplite ST Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Test System and Thermal Results

Enermax is back again in the labs with its Hoplite ST Mid-Tower case. It might have wished it never entered.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 17, 2012 1:36 pm
TweakTown Rating: 69%      Manufacturer: Enermax

The Test System and Thermal Results

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_32_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel is pretty easy; in fact if you pick up the chassis with your hand under the front it will come off for you. There is access to the 120mm fan in the front with the removal of a single screw. Then the metal plate will allow the fan to come out to be cleaned.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_33_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I was also a bit disappointed to see that the middle stand-off, nearest the bays, is just off the mark and no way I could use it. All of the rest of the screws were lined up and tightly in place when I took this image.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_34_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

If a misaligned riser didn't have you a bit steamed already, as I went to add my video card, I really could not believe that this sort of work gets past QC in any factory. The amount of stripped screws in this chassis is just getting unforgivable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_35_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Back outside with the build complete, we look again at the front of the Hoplite ST. With the optical drive installed, and the SSD stealth installed above it, I like the look you get, and I don't think the ODD looks bad or breaks up the design all that much.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_36_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I was able to get the SSD and the ODD in the top, you can see why I would like the drive bays completely gone below; I had no use for them as they block the fan. As for the rest of the build, I can't say it went without issue, but I was able to muscle my way through the build.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_37_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Nothing really to mention in the back, the I/O shield went in fine, and the PSU and video card lined up and were snug once the screws were tightened up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_38_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Without many other options you are left testing the limits of what 20mm of space can hold for wire management. With only one way to get all of the wiring back here at the top you are left with little option but to run a thick trunk as I did. Getting the panel back on required the full force of both arms as I slid it over the wires and back into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_39_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Both panels are extremely tight to get on or off, but I managed to get them both on. Here is a look at the hardware through the window once I managed to squeeze the panel back onto the Hoplite ST. The fan holes do line up really well to aid both the CPU and video card cooling though.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_40_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here is one last look at the Hoplite ST before I push the power button. Aside from the view of the hardware through the window and the ODD no poking through the front, you are left with all the same styling you were given in the beginning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_41_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Pushing the power button illuminates the front fan with a flood of blue LED lighting, and there is a blue LED on the top denoting power with the occasional flash of a red LED for the storage drive activity. Other than that, unless you add fans with them, that is all the Hoplite ST has to offer out of the box.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below