TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,156 Reviews & Articles | 39,561 News Posts

Corsair Neutron Series GTX 480GB SSD Review - Corsair Neutron Series GTX 480GB SSD

Corsair's lock on Link_A_Media Device's controller is holding. We've seen the 240GB capacity sizes of the Neutron and Neutron GTX, and now we get our turn with the massive 480GB drive.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 5, 2012 7:42 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Neutron Series GTX 480GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_06_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the 480GB Neutron GTX. The drive uses the new 7mm z-height form factor so it'll fit in a very wide range of devices including several new ultrabooks. The model and serial number are located on the front label.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_07_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There's not much on the back other than the four mounting points.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_08_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

To get to 7mm Corsair uses a new case design that is made of very thin metal. The drive is very light because of it, but it doesn't feel as solid as the older cases used on the Force Series.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_09_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The included desktop adapter bracket offsets the drive so your SATA power and data ports are very close to inline with 3.5" form factor drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_10_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Neutron and Neutron GTX use Link A Media Devices controller LM86800AA. The controller is paired with Toshiba Toggle Mode flash and two 128MB DRAM chips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_11_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

One of the DRAM chips is located on the back of the PCB. We think one chip acts as a buffer and the other stores map data.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5029_12_corsair_neutron_series_gtx_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Corsair uses 24nm Toshiba Toggle Model flash, but we wouldn't be surprised to see 19nm Toshiba used in the future. Maybe for Neutron Series II?

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases