TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,486 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

AZiO KB505U Large Print 3 Color Backlit Keyboard Review - AZiO KB505U Keyboard Continued

Maybe you have to look at the keys while you type, or maybe your eyesight isn't what it used to be, but don't worry, AZiO has you covered with the Large Print 3 Color backlit keyboard.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Oct 30, 2012 4:23 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: AZiO

AZiO KB505U Keyboard Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_17_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the KB505U from the side, you can see that like I said, the keyboard is very flat from front to back, so you very well may want to pop out the legs in the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_18_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To do so you just lift the front edge of the foot, and the three piece hinge there will click into the locked out position. I know with the size of this foot it is tough to add, but I would prefer a rubber pad for grip on these legs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_19_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the feet extended you can see how it changes the angle of the keys quite a bit and should help alleviate any wrist issues you may have from lengthy typing sessions.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_20_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The USB cable comes folded up and wrapped in a plastic sleeve for transport, but once the twist ties and plastic sleeve are removed, you have five foot of black plastic cable to make the USB connection to the rear I/O of your computer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_21_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

After removing quite a few screws I was able to open up the keyboard to have a look at what is inside. What I ran into first is the PCB that the USB cable connects to and is the workhorse of the keyboard controlling its usage as well as the LED functionality.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_22_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Lifting the lighting panel out of the way you can now see the plastic membrane with the traces in it and you can even see the dome switches through the membrane that make the contacts for each key.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_23_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

This is only about two-thirds of the panel, but you can get the idea of how the system is run. Three wires run to the LEDS on the far edge, and when they are powered they illuminate this whole panel to deliver quite a bit of LED glow through the key caps.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_24_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the inside of the KB505U thoroughly looked over I put it back together and powered it up to be sure I didn't break anything. Once I plugged in the USB to the PC I was greeted with the blue option showing through that large print on the keys.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_25_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

You also have the option to go with red as the backlight. The lighting is a bit dim due to being red and not showing so well in images, but it is in reality a bit dimmer than the blue and purple options.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5023_26_azio_kb505u_large_print_3_color_backlit_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Not a huge fan of purple, this isn't my first choice, but if I were against the blue, I would use this over the red solely based on intensity alone. Either way it's much better than no lighting at all for the keys, so I will take what I can get for now.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases