TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,077 Reviews & Articles | 39,025 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Tablet Review - Packaging, Initial Impressions and Setup

Samsung's quad-core, stylus pen-toting Galaxy Note 10.1 gets reviewed and we give you our full opinion.

| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Oct 23, 2012 4:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 50%Manufacturer: Samsung

Packaging, Initial Impressions and Setup

 

Samsung's Galaxy Note 10.1 comes in a nice looking box, giving us a fair amount of detail and tech talk on the slate. On the front we have it showing off the 10.1-inch tablet itself, its S-Pen, in the top right we see this model is the Wi-Fi only version and in the bottom left we see it's the 16GB variant.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_03_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

On the rear of the box, we get a bunch of specs on the Note 10.1 from its quad-core processor, 2GB of RAM to its other specs like the 7,000mAh battery and Smart Remote abilities. We also see that it's the GT-N8010 model in the bottom left.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_04_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

Taking the Galaxy Note 10.1 out of the box, we get the nice-looking tablet sitting in front of us with a sticker again explaining some of the going-ons inside of the tablet itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_06_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_07_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

Below, we have a shot of the top of the tablet itself, and from left to right we find the power button, volume rocker, microSD card slot, IR blaster and 3.5mm audio jack.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_08_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

Here we have a shot just behind the top of the device, showing off its 5-megapixel rear-facing camera with its LED flash. We can also see some Samsung branding just below this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_09_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

In the following couple of shots, we can see the S-Pen housed inside of the Galaxy Note 10.1. This is in the upper-right of the tablet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_10_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

And now with the S-Pen slid out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_11_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

Finishing up on the out of the box experience, we find the Samsung proprietary charging port. I do wish they used a standard miniUSB port - this gets some negative points from me.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_12_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

 

This is the last shot out of the box, on its first boot up where we get to select our language.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5012_13_samsung_galaxy_note_10_1_tablet_review.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases