TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,921 Reviews & Articles | 38,153 News Posts

MSI GEFORCE GTX 650 1GB Power Edition Video Card Review - The Card and Specifications

We see how the lower end options from NVIDIA look with the new MSI GTX 650 1GB Power Edition.

| NVIDIA GeForce GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Oct 22, 2012 1:38 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: MSI

The Card

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_09_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving onto the card we can see looking straight on there's nothing too interesting going on as we've seen this cooler design before when we had a chance to look at the MSI HD 7770 Power Edition earlier in the year. We'll take the chance to look at it again now to see just exactly what the extra fan offers us in terms of configurations.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_12_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_10_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_11_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

Starting at the top you can see the out of the box single fan configuration which isn't a huge surprise. Outside of the out of the box setup you can add the second fan straight on top which MSI call Double Airflow mode and it increases the air pressure to enhance heat dissipation. The final option is the Dual Fan mode which is made by sliding the cooler out and adding it to the left side. This setup provides a bigger area of dissipation and cools the PWM module and memory more efficiently.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_13_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_14_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking a quick spin around you can see that power comes in the form of a single 6-pin PCIe power connector. Just around the corner you can see we've got another connector which is used to power the second fan if you choose to use it. What we don't have is a SLI connector at the front of the card, as it's not an option on this model from NVIDIA.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_15_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish with the I/O side of things which consists of a Dual-Link DVI-D, Dual-Link DVI-I and a Mini HDMI connector. If your monitor doesn't offer Mini HDMI we have got a convertor in the bundle as we showed on the last page.

 

 

Specifications

 

Today we're of course looking at an OC version of the GTX 650 which isn't a huge surprise since we're dealing with a Power Edition version of the model. Before we look at what MSI is offering us, though, let's quickly cover the reference clocks.

 

A reference clocked GTX 650 comes with a 1058MHz core while the 1GB of GDDR5 comes in at 5000MHz QDR. Alongside the clocks other key information includes the 384 Shaders that are present and the 128-bit memory bus that is utilized on the 1GB of GDDR5.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5007_01_msi_geforce_gtx_650_1gb_power_edition_video_card_review.png

 

Today, though, we're dealing with an overclocked model from MSI and looking above you can see they've boosted the core to 1124MHz. As for the 1GB of GDDR5 you can see that hasn't been changed and comes in with that same 5000MHz QDR clock. It's not a huge overclock by any means and we don't have results from a reference clocked card so we won't know exactly what kind of boost the clocks give us over a reference based card.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases