TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Heligon Series HE01 Twin Tower CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

SilverStone jumps in the twin tower CPU cooling game with some ideas of its own to dominate this segment by offering the Heligon Series HE01.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 5, 2012 5:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: SilverStone

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_22_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Installing the HE01 on my Z68 motherboard, you have to slide in the bolts through the back of the universal back plate, and slide it all in through the holes of the motherboard. Also be sure to align it right with the socket screws as seen here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_23_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The orientation is wrong for the top brackets, I realized later when I tried to install the cooler, but you get the idea. All you do to secure the top hardware to the back plate is add the spacers over the screws, then the top brackets, and use the nuts to lock it all in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_24_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After I had my "facepalm" moment trying a dry fit to the motherboard, I promptly swapped the brackets around and added a bit of TIM to see how the spread pattern is.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_25_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

It was at this point I noticed alignment arrows on the brackets. With most coolers you are left going back to the manual for the orientation of these brackets, the handy little arrows on them makes it simple to figure out how to install them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_26_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the cooler fully mounted and taking a big step back, you can see how monstrous this cooler is, when designed correctly, can still leave you quite a bit of access around it to the components and connections on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_27_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There definitely aren't any issues with the HE01 hanging down too far and causing issues with the card in the top slot of my motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_28_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Like I mentioned earlier, the HE01 in its stock configuration with only the single 140mm fan leaves me free to populate all four of my memory slots with as tall of spreaders as I want to install, the HE01 is well out of the way for that.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4995_29_silverstone_heligon_series_he01_twin_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In this last image I wanted to get a better angle of the whole cooler in the image, but I can also show off the room between the heat sinks around the socket and the cooler, as well as it not covering over the 8-pin EPS connection at the right of the motherboard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases