TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,136 News Posts

AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard Review - AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard Continued

AZiO injects the Mech4 with new life as the Levetron Mech5 mechanical gaming keyboard.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Oct 18, 2012 2:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: AZiO

AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_18_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Following that braided cable, even though the majority of the six foot is still wound up, it terminated in two connectors. Both of the gold plated USB connections must be made unless you don't plan to add the D-pad or the numeric keypad.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_19_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Under the keyboard and number pad, they both offer a long rubber piece or two at the front edge to give it secure footing. In the back you will find the same, along with some unusual adjustable feet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_20_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the feet clipped down into the base of the keyboard, you have a very flat keyboard on your desk, but there is the rubber piece to give you the grip you need to keep the keyboard from sliding around in game.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_21_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

If you flip up the smaller foot, you can see that it also has a rubber pad on it, and it delivers on half of an inch in height to the back of the keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_22_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

If you desire a more drastic angle of attack, feel free to flip out the large feet and raise your board just over an inch higher in the back. The large foot of course has a rubber pad on it as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_23_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I thought the D-pad keys felt a bit mushy, and I grabbed one of my key pullers to find out why. Once I removed the D2 key I could see this little add-on board used rubber dome switches.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_24_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As for the rest of the keyboard if you were to remove the key caps you will find nothing but Cherry MX Black linear mechanical switches backing these caps.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_25_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit to see another way we can use the Levetron Mech5, with the detached numeric pad, you can see in the back that we are now using both USB ports. What you can't really see is the red LED glowing under the volume control knob and around the A/B keys as the keyboard is powered up.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases