TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,569 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard Review - AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard

AZiO injects the Mech4 with new life as the Levetron Mech5 mechanical gaming keyboard.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Oct 18, 2012 2:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: AZiO

AZiO Levetron Mech5 Gaming Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_09_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The Mech5 comes as a standalone keyboard as you see here. The design is quite angular, and even chunky on the sides, but I can understand the design elements especially once I see them all in play as I get to know the Mech5 a little more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_10_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

On the extreme left edge of the keyboard you have a set of five keys that show both A and B designations. The key above that is spilt diagonally offers a Windows lock out key on the top left, but the bottom right key will switch between the A and B sides of the profile keys.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_11_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Across the standard 74 key layout you get black key caps with painted lettering. The choice of font is very clear, and stands out well for those who cannot type blind. I also like that there are the usual sized keys for the shift and enter keys as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_12_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

At the top near the right edge of the Mech5 is the large volume control knob. This will illuminate while in use with the slight glow of red LEDs. To the left of it are the caps lock and scroll lock indicators.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_13_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now we are actually looking at the bulky cover on the right edge of the keyboard, traditionally where the numeric keypad is on most keyboards out of the box. Keep in mind, what you are about to see can be done on either the left or right side of the Levetron Mech5 keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_14_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

There is a latch under the bottom that needs pressed to release the cover, but once done it will swing past 90 degrees and also expose a USB connector tucked away between two plastic rails. This is to allow you to clip in the numeric keypad that shipped in the bottom of the tray.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_15_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As you can see the contour of the keyboard snugs right up to the left side of the keypad, and all that is left to do is to press the cover on the top of the keypad to help lock it in. As I said you can add this to the left side of the board as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_16_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Since we were adding the components, I went ahead and grabbed the add-on Macro D-pad. I will show you how it connects in a bit, but it rides on the segmented track and will adjust for the best comfort. If you need to use an F-key, just lift the front edge and the D-pad will swing up and out of the way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4994_17_azio_levetron_mech5_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Next to the track for the D-pad, at the back of the keyboard, you find two USB ports next to the beginning of the six foot braided cable to connect the Mech5 to your PC with. Keep in mind, if you use the D-pad, and or want the numeric pad to be free on your desktop, both ports will be used by these devices.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases