TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,451 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Prolimatech MK-26 Video Card Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product Continued

Prolimatech is going with the bigger is better theory with the release of its latest video card cooler, the MK-26.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 5, 2012 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Prolimatech

Installation and Finished Product Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_33_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

Flipping the video card over the instructions say to add the dense foam square to the back of the GPU socket. This will absorb any irregular shapes of the bits on the PCB while isolating the black steel plate that goes on here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_34_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

I chose to go with the smaller of the two squares of foam, and even then only the legs get supported. All there is left to do now is drive home the natural colored spring loaded thumbscrews to secure the MK-26 to my HIS video card.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_35_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

Making sure the MK-26 was very secure first, I was satisfied with it and set the cooler and video card back down to get more images. As you can see I instantly stepped up to a three slot video card, and I haven't added any fans yet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_36_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

This angle will show you just how enormous the MK-26 really is. It is almost as long at the HD 7950, and almost twice as wide. In reality, when testing, this stood taller than the HE01 from SilverStone that I had on my CPU at the time.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_37_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

With this much cooler to block the view it is hard to see the heat sinks under the cooler. Take my word for it though, there were no clearance issues at all, and the cooler went on relatively easy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_38_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

Unless you have a reverse ATX chassis, this is the last time you will be able to read the logo on this end of the cooler. Once in a typical ATX chassis the lettering will be inverted.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_39_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

I took this shot just in case you thought when I showed how wide this cooler is on the card, that it wasn't a camera trick or a funny angle. The MK-26 really takes up a lot of room. Being as tall as a CPU cooler, even taller will limit users in some mid tower cases as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_40_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since we need some air flow to test out the performance of the MK-26, I went to the shelf and grabbed a pair of Corsair SP120 High Performance fans off of it and strapped them onto the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4993_41_prolimatech_mk_26_video_card_cooler_review.jpg

 

So fully assembled, what started as a two slot video card (well slightly thicker with the HIS design), and not only made it a three slot option, with fans now in the picture we are up to four slots being used to keep your video card cool now.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases