TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,134 Reviews & Articles | 39,399 News Posts

Swiftech Maelstrom Standalone Bay Reservoir Review - Swiftech Maelstrom 5 Dual Bay Reservoir

Anyone keeping tabs on Swiftech lately has seen this reservoir, but the Maelstrom bay reservoir is finally in my hands.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 25, 2012 3:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Swiftech

Swiftech Maelstrom 5 Dual Bay Reservoir

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_07_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

I had another image to start off with, but I thought this one would get us off on the right foot and help show some of the features here. At the top, on the left there is a graduated scale to measure the coolant level, and next to it is a large window that incorporates the Swiftech logo. On the bottom left side you have the name painted on the aluminium cover and on the right is an LCD screen that will later show the coolant temperatures.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_08_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

On the right side of the Maelstrom you have this nickel plated steel bracket, which allows you to mount the reservoir in the chassis without the issue of cracking the reservoir by tightening the mounting screws too tightly. I also like the added touch of more logo cut outs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_09_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

In the back of the Maelstrom, you see there is a lower fitting that is the outlet under the anti-siphon tube. To the right are three return ports, but only one fitting is provided while the others are capped off. You can also see two holes drilled in the Acetal; those are the optional spots to glue in the UV LED.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_10_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

The same bracket is used on this side. The brackets rest against the side of the Maelstrom for support, but are mounted to the back of the face plate as the aluminum plate gets mounted. The screws pass through the steel, into the Acetal, and brass inserts in the aluminum plate makes for the stealth mounting.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_11_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

On the top you see the really large fill cap that is solid brass that gets chromed. This will work with just the grip of your hand, as the X is thick and raised enough to allow this. You can also see the coolant temperature sensor in the lower left corner that sends its reading to the LCD screen.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_12_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

Looking at the bottom you can see the filter media and the screen in the anti-siphon chamber, and why the need for the POM adapter piece. Over on the right, there is a hole drilled to allow the temp sensor with an o-ring to screw in and be leak free.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_13_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

This tiny little PCB is what will be controlling the LCD screen and the temperature sensor in the Maelstrom. While the PCB is powered with a 4-pin Molex connection, it is wired for only ground and the 5V+ lead. Of course the thin black wires are running to the sensor, leaving the thicker red and black wires to carry the power.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4992_14_swiftech_maelstrom_standalone_bay_reservoir_review.jpg

 

Finishing off the looks of the Maelstrom we are back where we started. This time you can see the flow in the top of the reservoir window, along with the purple glow of the LED I placed behind the anti-siphon tubes and the logo. You can also see the temp sensor is functioning, as the bluish-green LCD is displaying a 25.1 degree coolant temperature.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases