TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Swiftech Apogee Drive II Integrated Pump and Waterblock Review - Inside the Apogee Drive II

Swiftech simplifies the life of water loop builders with the Apogee Drive II CPU water block and pump combo.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 16, 2012 3:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Swiftech

Inside the Apogee Drive II

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_19_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

First I wanted to just change out the LED plate, not because I don't like red, I just like blue better. At this point you have to remove the four tiny screws and the metal plate with the logo cut into it will lift out of the way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_20_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Once the metal plate is out of the way you can now see the LED pushed into the top of the red plastic block. All I do now is lift the red out and install the LED into the hole in the blue block, and then replace the metal plate.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_21_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

And here you have a blue version of the Apogee Drive II. I didn't go with the green because I don't like it as much personally, but the process is exactly the same.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_22_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Since the POM pieces on the side are adjustable, I thought ahead and removed one to set up an angle that will allow this to point toward the GPU in the loop. What I found when I removed it was a bit of "garbage" hanging about inside of it. It came out simply with some tweezers, but it's not something I like to see in something billed as top quality.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_23_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

With the outlet now back on, you get the idea of how adjustable these pieces are. Of course there are only three positions, but with angled fittings you can go wherever you need to, it is just very handy to have some built in options.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_24_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

There is really no reason why you should have to do this, but I went ahead and removed the screws going into the pump and this allowed me to separate the aluminum from the pump. Of course there isn't TIM here as it wouldn't do much good, this is just a cover as well as a bit of a functional heatsink for the pump.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_25_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

In case you missed it in the last image, I wanted to be sure to show that this is in fact the same MCP35X you can get retail, just that it has been specifically adapted with a top for the water block portion.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_26_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Flipping the ADII over and removing the copper base plate shows the left over green coolant used to pre-test the block before it left for my house. The way it works is to force water through the center into the base plate, and returns in the top left corner and goes to the outlet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_27_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

On the inside of the copper base you can see the ring the o-ring left in the center of the 255 micro-pins. That along with close tolerances forces the cooled liquid through all of these fins and is then collected around the outside edges to return as heated liquid.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_28_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Since the block was pre-tested, some of the coolant had oxidized the base of the Apogee Drive II. So to be fair, as I usually do, I removed any oxidation and discoloration to give the mating surface its best chance of thermal conductivity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases