TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,460 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The Storm Scout case was a success, but now Cooler Master has gone and refined it in many ways and released the CM Storm Scout 2. It's better.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 4, 2012 5:46 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Final Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_32_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I was doing my final check after the build I realized I hadn't added the optical drive yet. It is a good thing that none of the wiring is connected to the front bezel as I had that all tied up as well. At this point I just picked a bay cover to remove, and slid the drive in latching it with just the clip on the left.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_33_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the bezel back in place I found the ODD spacing is perfect and really makes it so that there aren't any odd spaces - the finish is flat and level. Even breaking up the mesh on the front, the drive looks at home all snug in the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_34_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since my ATX build is tied up with water cooling, I figured it was a good time to show the old Micro ATX system off. Everything went in well, the wiring went to everything it needed to, and you can see there is plenty of room for longer cards to the right of those 460s.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_35_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

No surprises in the back, either. The dust shield went in pretty easy, there weren't issues with the cards aligning or mounting, and the PSU went in smooth as well, even though it negates the 120mm fan mount in front of it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_36_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see the finished wiring is really clean and there was no problems getting it this way, just a lot of zip-ties. I also made sure to pack the wires right on the left edge of the motherboard tray, where the room is least. Even so with the doors allowance and the room here, the panel went on as if there was nothing there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_37_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I always do, I like to step back and appreciate the competed build before I add the power and get to the testing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_38_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I also thought you might like to see the view given to you through the window. You can't see everything, but there is a great view of the CPU cooler and the top video card in my build. I am pleased with the view given here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4984_39_cooler_master_storm_scout_2_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once powered up, there isn't the brilliance that most images portray of the Scout 2, but rather just a hint of LED lighting. The rear exhaust fan has four LEDs in the corners to give the inside a touch of ambiance. On the outside, all there is to see is the glow of the strip under the front I/O panel. It will glow red on the left when it's powered, and flicker on the right to the HDD activity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases