TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,151 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Transcend SSD320 256GB SSD Review - Transcend SSD320 256GB SSD

Today Chris follows up the Transcend SSD720 review with the mainstream model, the SSD320. The SSD320 pairs asynchronous flash with the same SandForce controller found in the flagship 720 model. This combination reduces the total cost, but does it also significantly reduce performance?

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Oct 15, 2012 3:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: Transcend

Transcend SSD320 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_08_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Transcend uses the same case for the SSD320 that we found on the SSD720. This seems to be a Transcend exclusive case since we've not encountered it on other products before. The case is strong and not flimsy like many of the other 7mm cases we've ran across so far.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_09_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the information is on the front label, but on the back you can see that all of the bottom mounting positions are where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_10_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height also positions the side mounting points in the standard notebook location so you won't have any problems running this drive in your regular notebook or desktop with the included desktop adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_11_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The adapter bracket offsets the drive to the side so the SATA power and data ports are closer to inline with 3.5" form factor drives in your computer. This makes cable management easier if your power supply has very stiff cables.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_12_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside we found a LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller and sixteen NAND flash chips.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_13_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are eight NAND flash chips on each side of the PCB. This drive also has an extensive power management section that you see here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4980_98_transcend_ssd320_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

I have no idea who made these NAND flash ICs, but I suspect they are rebranded Micron 25nm L74 chips.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below