TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,450 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

KingFast F3 Plus 240GB 7mm SSD Review - KingFast F3 Plus SSD

KingFast surprises us with its new F3 Plus 7mm SSD. With Intel 5K flash paired with LSI SandForce's SF-2281 high performance SATA III controller, this drive is not only functional, it is fast too.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Oct 2, 2012 6:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: KingFast

KingFast F3 Plus SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_07_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the KingFast F3 Plus SSD. By now you are used to seeing SSDs so there isn't anything shocking here. The case is aluminum and doesn't flex like the thin steel and plastic cases we are starting to see more often.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_08_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

There isn't a label on the back of our sample, but the bottom mounting screws are located where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_09_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

Aside from the 5K flash, the biggest feature is the 7mm z-height form factor. This drive will work in your desktop (with the included adapter bracket), your standard notebook and also you shiny new ultrabook that accepts only 7mm drives.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_10_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data cables are where they should be, but KingFast didn't use a bracket that offsets the drive. This isn't a big issue unless you have stiff cables. I test a lot of power supplies and some of them have very stiff cables and the offset makes connecting multiple HDDs and SSDs easier since they all line up.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_11_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

The F3 Plus uses the SF-2281 flash storage processor and pairs it with Intel 25nm synchronous flash. The flash is labeled JCME1 which is the code for 5K P/E.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_12_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

KingFast only uses eight NAND flash chips which is good news for notebook and ultrabook users. When you lower the flash count, you decrease the power draw. Eight chips mean all eight channels are utilized so KingFast put together an optimal product for its intended market.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4965_13_kingfast_f3_plus_240gb_7mm_ssd_review.jpg

 

The only thing that gets me kind of worked up is that KingFast doesn't advertise 5K flash. It was just tucked in there and I didn't even know about it until I cracked the case open.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases