TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,233 News Posts

Apple iOS 6 Mobile OS Review (on an iPad 3) - What we liked, and didn't like about iOS 6

We give the just-released Apple iOS 6 mobile operating system a run around the block, and provide our impressions.

| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Sep 25, 2012 2:57 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Apple

What we liked, and didn't like about iOS 6

 

What we love:

 

Facebook and Twitter integration - Thank you, Apple. This is great and I truly love it. I wish this was on my Android devices, and now it makes me like iOS that little bit more. Having social networking tied into a mainly social device is imperative. Apple, in traditional fashion, make it simple, and easy to use. A simple slide down from the top of your iOS 6-based device, and you're right there - ready to tweet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_01_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_02_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_03_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

The new look App Store - Apple have needed to update the look of the App Store for a while, and they've finally done so with iOS 6. It features a very fresh, very 'now' look. Little things like the indented buttons for categories, to the sliding your way through the apps at the top of the Store, it's wonderful.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_06_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_07_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

You'll also no longer need to continuously type in your password to install updates - something that was a true pain in my ass from day one on any Apple device.

 

Phone/DND mode - Apple adding in the Do Not Disturb mode is a stroke of genius, dabbed in a jar of simplicity. It's these little things that set the Cupertino-based company apart from the rest. The ability to have a no-call option, but with allowances for certain people, or groups, is a great touch. I haven't used this as I only tested iOS 6 on my iPad, but this will be a great feature on the iPhone, that's for sure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_04_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.png

 

FaceTime - Apple enabling FaceTime over a cellular connection was a big mistake with the launch of the iPhone 4, but they've finally corrected themselves by enabling it in iOS 6. I'm not a big user of FaceTime, or video calls for that matter - but this will push people to use the application much more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_10_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.jpg

 

What we didn't like:

 

Maps - Apple, WTF. The company has been fighting with Google in the mobile OS war for years now, with casualties all over the place. Maps is unfortunately one of these casualties. Apple can brag as much as they want about Maps, and how it's "Apple-designed", I don't give a crap. Users don't care about the going-ons between Google and Apple - they want to be looked after.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4947_11_apple_ios_6_mobile_os_review_on_an_ipad_3.jpg

 

Apple really threw customers to the ground with Maps and it shows. It's not as good as Google Maps, and it really shows. There's no street view, and worse yet, there's absolutely no public transport options for navigation. Really, Apple?

 

Apple's Maps app is a first-gen map application from the company, where Google Maps is really in its stride - but Apple took a huge plunge here, and there are plenty of people that I know who are truly disappointed in this feature alone, to the point where they've now thought twice about getting the new iPhone 5 because of it.

 

Passbook - It's really only useful in the US, and while I understand the US is a huge market - it's not the only market. I'm an Australian, and here it doesn't work - so it gets included in my things "I don't like" about iOS 6.

 

No killer apps - I really expected Apple to throw in a truly killer app, something to say "here's iOS 6, check THIS out", but there is not. There are changes here and there, improvements, and some new apps such as Passbook, but nothing that truly stands out on its own like FaceTime did with the iPhone 4 launch, or Siri with the iPhone 4S launch.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases