TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,830 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Strontium HAWK Series 120GB SSD Review - Strontium HAWK Series 120GB

Strontium looks to lift your computing experience with the new low-cost HAWK Series. This is the first time we've published a SandForce based drive with Hynix 26nm flash. This is also our first public outing with FW 5.0.4. Many firsts today, this will be interesting.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 19, 2012 5:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Strontium

Strontium HAWK Series 120GB

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_06_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Strontium isn't doing much to hide the fact that this drive is actually a SK Hynix SH910 SSD. I know for some of you that will increase your interest in this review. The SK Hynix 910 Series was first spotted for sale in Korea back in June. These drives are advertised in four capacity sizes - 120GB, 128GB, 240GB and 256GB. The larger capacity sizes are most likely free of RAISE.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_07_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Keeping with firsts, I'm pretty sure this is the first time we've seen a white SSD. The finish of the paint is really nice and even. The case finish actually makes the drive feel like it's made of ceramic and not aluminum.

 

Several of the 7mm drives we've tested feel flimsy, but the HAWK is a solid drive that doesn't flex when you breathe on it like the Corsair Neutron we tested last month.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_08_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the 7mm z-height. All of the standard 2.5" form factor mounting points are where they should be. They don't change till we get to 5mm next year. That means you can use the HAWK Series in your desktop with an adapter bracket (not included) and your regular notebook.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_09_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are offset to where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_10_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There isn't much happening on this side of the PCB other than the SandForce SF-2281 controller and a couple of surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_11_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SF-2281 is an 8-channel controller and Strontium populated all of the channels with 26nm Hynix synchronous MLC flash.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4945_12_strontium_hawk_series_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here is a close up of the flash that's labeled H27QDG8VEBIR.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases