TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,078 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ASRock Z77 OC Formula (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - BIOS

Just coming off its world record run, we check out the ASRock Z77 OC Formula mobo built from the ground up by Taiwanese overclocker, Nick Shih.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 18, 2012 2:55 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

Getting into the BIOS you can see that we've got a new design which looks absolutely awesome. What I love, though, is that when you get into the BIOS the default page is the OC Tweaker one. We did just go back to the "Main" page to start taking screenshots. You can see, though, you can set what you want the first page to be on entry and as you can see by default it is the "OC Tweaker" one.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_18_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_19_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

Getting into the "OC Tweaker" section the Nick Shih's OC Profile section I absolutely love. Clicking the profile you're given a bunch of preset speeds that range all the way up to over 5GHz for LN2 overclockers. We'll talk a bit more about how we went with it in the next page, but what I love about this is you can go to a certain speed; say 4.7GHz and it sets all the voltages up and so froth that you need to reach that overclocked speed. What it does is then gives you this really good starting point, from there you can then tweak the voltages a bit more, the BCLK and other sections like that to find a strong overclock. Obviously Nick and other ASRock engineers have spent many hours figuring all of this out for you.

 

This is something I wish more companies offered and the only other company we've seen really do it is ASUS who had "Gamer Profiles" and that which would boost your CPU speed. It's clear going through the "OC Tweaker" section of the BIOS, though, that Nick has built this board for overclocking, and it really shows.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_20_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_21_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

As we move further through the "OC Tweaker" section you see a huge line up of options with a massive focus on voltages. You can tweak just so many areas on the board that it comes as no surprise to us that Nick was able to break the world record with the 3770K.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_22_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_23_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_24_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_25_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_26_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_27_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4943_28_asrock_z77_oc_formula_intel_z77_motherboard_review.png

 

As we move through the rest of the BIOS we don't see anything that's too out of the ordinary. The H/W Monitor section has an absolute load of temperature points, as you can see 10 points around the motherboard, but apart from that everything else is fairly standard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below