TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,058 Reviews & Articles | 38,949 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Inno3D GTX 680 iChill Black Series Accelero Hybrid 4GB Overclocked Video Card Review - The Card and Specifications

We check out an awesome GEFORCE GTX 680 from the folks over at Inno3D. Let's show you what makes it so awesome.

| NVIDIA GeForce GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Sep 10, 2012 3:40 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Inno3D

The Card

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_07_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Pulling the card out of the box the first thing we notice is the 120mm radiator attached to it. This was a really cool surprise as when we organized the review sample we didn't look into it at all so to pull it out and see that it had its own all in one water cooling system attached too it was really cool.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_08_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

It holds just a single 120mm fan, but if you wanted to you could install a second fan for a push pull configuration. You'd need to buy that fan separately. Coming off it we've got a single 4-pin fan connector that can just be plugged into your motherboard to run the fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_09_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Moving back to the card you can see that Inno3D haven't just opted for the water block to do all the work, instead they've also installed a fan on the card to help keep everything as cool as possible, hence the "hybrid" in the model name. I think our biggest worry at the moment is going to be the noise levels, but we'll find out what exactly is going on in that department a little later on in the review.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_10_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

On the power side of things you can see we've got an 8-pin PCIe and a 6-pin PCIe power connector. It's a little bit of a squeeze to get our power connectors in due to the tubes that run into the card, but once in you shouldn't have any serious issue getting up and running. The main thing you want to do is make sure you don't bend the tube or block it off in anyway.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_11_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Across the front we've got the SLI connectors which provide the ability to run up to four of these cards which would be a truly awesome setup. Of course we're not too sure we want to figure out the cost or if it will fit in all systems.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_12_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Along with the 4-pin fan connector that is attached to the radiator fan we've also got a Molex connector that comes out the top of the card which is used for the pump. It's great to see that Inno3D have made this a really long cable so you shouldn't have any major issue plugging it in. The length also means that it shouldn't get in the way of anything.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_13_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish up with the I/O side of things and you can see we've got two Dual-Link DVI connectors on the right hand side. On the left you can see we've got a HDMI port alongside a DisplayPort while the top half also provides a vent to let the fan push some of the hot air out of your chassis.

 

 

Specifications

 

It comes as no surprise that Inno3D would take the time to overclock this card out of the box and that's of course what they've done.

 

Looking below you can see they've done a pretty good job when it comes to the default clocks lifting the core clock from 1006MHz / 1058MHz via boost to 1124MHz / 1189MHz via boost.

 

They've also give the memory clock a boost and that's an area we see most companies ignore. Looking below you can see we've gone from default 6008MHz QDR to a fairly impressive 6280MHz QDR. Not only that, but Inno3D have chosen to double the amount of memory from the typical 2GB to a more impressive 4GB.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4934_01_inno3d_gtx_680_ichill_black_series_accelero_hybrid_4gb_overclocked_video_card_review.png

 

Since the card does carry with it an all in one water cooling solution we figured that we'd take the time to overclock the card and see just how much performance we can get out of it. As you can see we got a slight boost on the core to 1149MHz which brings us to 1214MHz via boost. And we took the 4GB of GDDR5 to 6560MHz QDR.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases