TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

Enermax MaxREVO 1500-watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Enermax gives you tons of power with the MaxREVO 1500W PSU and keeps you from breaking the bank to get it.

| 80 PLUS Gold PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 26, 2012 2:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Enermax

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_10_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Once we open things up, we find several boxes that slide out of the outer packaging. The power supply resides in the middle box while the modular cables and accessories are in the outer two boxes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_11_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking the power supply out of the box, we find that the I/O specification label is on the top of the unit. There are some rub marks on the finish of the unit, but we aren't able to explain why. The power supply rests in the box without bubble wrap or a plastic/felt bag but at the same time, there aren't any marks on the cardboard to indicate that it had been rubbed smooth.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_12_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the side, we find the same matte finish and embellished case that we saw with the 1350W model.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_13_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side is inverted and has a few more rub marks on it that we again couldn't explain.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_14_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Here we see all of the modular connections on the front of the unit. While it is impossible to utilize cables in an incorrect spot, it would be nice to have them labeled, especially with which rail they connect to.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_15_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Towards the back we find the standard honeycomb mesh venting with AC input and on/off rocker switch. Also notice the two spots below the AC input. This is for CordGuard, which secures the power cord and prevents it from accidentally being unplugged.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_16_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the exterior photos of the unit is a shot at the bottom. The 140mm fan provides active cooling for the unit and thanks to the HeatGuard feature will remain spinning 30-60 seconds after powering the unit off to reduce residual heat.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_17_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Included with the MaxREVO 1500W power supply are a slew of modular cables.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4932_18_enermax_maxrevo_1500_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the power supply is the user manual, rail distribution card, mounting screws, case badge, CordGuard and AC input cord.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases