TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,769 News Posts

Cooler Master Storm Stryker Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master delivers the Stryker from its Storm Series of chassis designs. Come see what is new in full-tower cases.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 17, 2012 3:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Final Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_35_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Having to do some remodeling to get the hardware I want in this chassis, I had to remove the top. This now gives you access to the fan screws at the top as well as showing the steel handle and that it is riveted to the roof of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_36_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Putting in an ODD really does break up the lines of the bay covers, as would a bay res or anything like that. While I like the easy to remove covers, the lack of tabs on the side does throw the look out of whack.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_37_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Because of the superior wire management inside of the Stryker, I was able to do this and leave very little sticking out anywhere around the motherboard. On top of that I was able to install both AIO coolers into the chassis with just a bit of thought and pre-planning.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_38_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even in the back, the dust shield snapped right in and the GTX 570 and TV tuner card went right in as well. As for the PSU, there isn't a gasket, but again, there were no issues aligning it or getting it mounted.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_39_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I know I have wiring going all over the pace, but there is some sense to the madness. On the left is the entire I/O and fan controller wiring and I had to roll up the USB 3.0 since this P55 system doesn't support it. On the right I was able to control all of the PSU wiring with all of the tie points and making it really easy to replace this side's panel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_40_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the side panel back on you can see how well the window is placed. It shows off all of the included goods inside the chassis without having to look at the sides of the bays too much.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_41_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is just one last look at the Storm Stryker before we add power to the build.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_42_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

It is very hard to see powered has been added here as the red LED lighting of the control panel isn't abusively bright. There is the CM Storm logo glowing in red and all three lights of the fan controller are illuminated. Even in a darkened room you need to be right on top of these to see the glow at all.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_43_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

You also have to option to turn on an off any of the LEDs you connected to the fan controller. As for the ones strapped on the HDD bays, they have a nice glow of white. If you were to rotate the hard drive bays, of course this would be then showing through the front of the Stryker.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4927_44_cooler_master_storm_stryker_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once you step back a bit, you can see all of the lighting is a bit tough to see. While I know some love their case to glow like Times Square, but I find the fact that the lighting isn't obtrusive to be a good thing. Here it is more of an accent that something trying to illuminate your whole room.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases