TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,447 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cougar GX800 800-watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

We take our first look at a Cougar power supply and find out they've got what it takes to compete with the leaders in the power supply market.

| 80 PLUS Gold PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 14, 2012 6:22 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Cougar

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_10_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Opening the box we find things seem to be well packed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_11_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top features the I/O specification. We thought that the unit was scratched during shipping, but we later found that the unit had multiple warranty stickers on it and had been in someone else's hands before ours.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_12_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The side view gives a good shot of the finish on the power supply. The two different textures between the top and the bottom pieces of the PSU enclosure add to the aesthetics of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_13_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side features inverted text in case the power supply is installed in the bottom of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_14_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The back is standard with the honeycomb venting as well as the AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_15_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Something we don't normally see on the front of a power supply is more venting. The modular connectors are labeled very well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_16_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The bottom gives us a great shot at the 140mm fan that cools the power supply, but doesn't do it justice as to how great this power supply looks. It really feels like a piece of art in your hands.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_17_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All modular cables are sleeved and flat which should provide for easier routing and increased airflow within the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4923_18_cougar_gx800_800_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the power supply is the user manual, mounting screws, case badge and AC input cord.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases