TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,684 Reviews & Articles | 36,179 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

GameTiger Mars VA-2 Gaming Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

We have seen the low-end and we've seen the best that GameTiger has to offer. It's time now to look at the Mars VA-2, their mid-range solution in mid-towers.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 12, 2012 4:39 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: GameTiger

The Build and Final Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_30_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the bezel I am pleased to see no wiring holding me back from adding my SSD and the DVD drive. To remove the 5.25" bay covers, they release from tabs on the inside. You will have to break out the extra panels if you are adding multiple 5.25" devices or even for the card reader 3.5" slot.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_31_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

While the DVD drive does break up the darker black mesh that once was here from top to bottom, I have to say again that I really dig the latch system on the ODD bays as it is very secure and simple to use.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_32_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Two things I like here, one is the fact that I was able to get the Thermal Interference Shield back into the case to keep the GPU heat below it and the CPU heat going right out the back through the 120mm exhaust fan. The second is that the HD 7950 fits, but the latches don't work on this type of cooler setup; it is more designed for reference designs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_33_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back there isn't much to discuss as everything lined up and went into place with no issues. Since the latches didn't work to support the card, I was happy to find out I could use a screw, even though I had to provide it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_34_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since there isn't an 8-pin hole at the top of the motherboard, all I had to route back here was the front I/O cabling and a SATA power lead. With it all tucked next to the hard drive bays there was no issues getting the panel over this.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_35_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

If it weren't for the DVD drive at the top of the Mars VA-2 there wouldn't be any changes from when we first viewed this case from this angle. All we need to do now is hook up some power.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_36_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just to get a good view of the lighting once the Mars has power, I got down to the fans level. As you can see the red LEDs are somewhat visible. What really sticks out is the plastic ring around the power button that glows blue. The reset button will also flash blue when the storage drive is active.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4916_37_gametiger_mars_va_2_gaming_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see now, once you move away from the front of the chassis the red LEDS are almost invisible while the power button is easily visible, but not so bright that it would blind you if setting at eye level.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below