TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,010 Reviews & Articles | 38,770 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

GIGABYTE Aivia Osmium Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - GIGABYTE Aivia Osmium Continued

GIGABYTE brings back the Aivia K8100 with a new evolution in the Aivia Osmium mechanical gaming keyboard.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 29, 2012 4:19 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Aivia Osmium Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_16_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the Osmium onto the keys, you can see the wrist wrest simply clips onto both side of the front edge. It also encases the front edge of the keyboard and is pretty solid and shouldn't come lose during the heat of a battle.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_17_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Next to each of the clips for the wrist rest there are also risible feet in the front. These can be used with the rest in place to help change the angle if the flat layout bothers you. They are also rubber padded so that you don't slide around.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_18_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The feet near the back edge of the keyboard are much bigger and taller than those on the front, but they also get the rubber pad on them to keep the Osmium in place on any surface, even glass.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_19_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Removing the W, A, S and D keys you can see the keys are in fact backed with Cherry MX Red Switches that each contain their own LED to illuminate the keys.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_20_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I also pulled random keys from all of the other sections of the Osmium and just as it was stated, the entire layout is backed with these switches and their own LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_21_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Back together and powered on, you can see the Aivia logo illuminated and I applied all of the locks to be sure to show them in this as well. This section has one color of LED, if you change the profile color, the "lock" color changes with it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_22_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and grabbed the extra keycaps and replaced a few of the G-keys with them. Illuminated you can see that there is the ghost, a shield, fire and lightning key caps for your customizing pleasure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4903_23_gigabyte_aivia_osmium_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now we can see the entire Aivia Osmium from GIGABYTE lit up and ready for action. I am happy to say that all of the LEDs work and the keyboard is fully functional. Now is the time to put some use on it and see what I think about it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases