TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,247 Reviews & Articles | 40,731 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Plextor M5 Pro 256GB PX-256M5P Solid State Drive Review - Plextor PX-256M5P 256GB SSD

Plextor uses the new Marvell 9287 controller, new Toshiba 19nm Toggle Mode Flash and gives us a new understanding of what it means to be fast.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Aug 7, 2012 2:19 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Plextor

Plextor PX-256M5P 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_07_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The M5 Pro is nearly identical to the M3 Pro on the outside. Both drives use the new 7mm z-height form factor so they are designed for ultrabooks, but will work just fine in your regular notebook or desktop as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_08_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The drive is very light with its aluminum frame. All of the ID information for your drive is found on the back sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_09_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The 7mm standard keeps the mounting points on the bottom and side of the drive in the same place as standard 9.5mm and even 15mm 2.5" form factor drives.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_10_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also located in the standard 2.5" form factor locations. The included desktop adapter bracket offsets the drive to the side so these plug in points are in line with 3.5" form factor drives.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_11_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Getting down to business, the Marvell 88SS9187 controller is Marvell's latest offering and is the replacement for the aging 88SS9174 that Plextor used in the M2, M3 and M5S products.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_12_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The 9187 is an eight channel controller and Plextor used eight 19nm Toggle Mode NAND flash chips on the 256GB M5 Pro. On this side of the PCB we also see the dual Nanya DRAM chips that are 256MB each.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4880_13_plextor_m5_pro_256gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

We couldn't let the Toshy 19nm pass through without a close up. We plan on abusing this flash over the next couple of days. We've yet to get official word from Toshiba on the endurance of this flash, but our unconfirmed report says Toshiba is specing 19nm out at 3000 P/E cycles.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases