TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,057 Reviews & Articles | 38,941 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

EKWB EK-Supremacy CPU Water Block and Custom Kit Review - EK-Supremacy Nickel-plexi CPU Block Continued

EKWB asked if we would like to see the Supremacy CPU water block and with it came a full kit. Let's take a look at all the new goodies.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 13, 2012 5:10 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: EKWB

EK-Supremacy Nickel-plexi CPU Block Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_17_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

The EK-Supremacy is a three piece assembly with a nickel plated copper base plate with the clear plexi top sandwiching the Intel mounting bracket. As you can see the top of the block is screwed on through the base, but I can only guess that these holes are for LEDs, if you want to add them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_18_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the block where the CPU will eventually make contact is covered with a paper sticker to keep anything that may happen to the block out of the packaging. In the box I doubt this will be damaged at all.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_19_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Removing the sticker and placing a spring and thumbscrew on the base, you can see by the perfect reflection how finely polished this base is out of the box. Against a razor it is very flat and level with the only deviation being at the outside edge of the four screws.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_20_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Inside of the base, there are over 50 micro channels to give this block its low resistance rating and some 20% improvement over the Supreme blocks. The water flows in the center of the fins and out and around to be pulled out via the large channel around the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_21_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Inside of the top you see the J1 jet plate which strangely isn't assigned a specific CPU assignment like the other two and the thick rubber washer to seal the three components together. This is the perfect time to drop in the J2 plate for my LGA1155 CPU or swap out for the AMD mounting bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_22_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

It's a bit tough to see, but you are looking at the back of the "in" threads. You can see the end is blocked off diverting all in flow through the jet plate and through the slits in the base plate of the block.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_23_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

I removed the J1 plate since the instructions say to use the J2 plate, which is now in the top, for my specific CPU and this is the plate I will be using for the testing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_24_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

The front of the accompanying instruction show the block in an exploded view at the top with explanations of the components and next to is there is the talk of the jet plates and uses. At the bottom they start with the disassembly for a new plate or mounting bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_25_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

On the flip side is where you get to the mounting instructions. These aren't complicated, but pay attention to the fine details as specific sockets require slightly different bits of the installation kit.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases