TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,673 Reviews & Articles | 36,060 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

EKWB EK-Supremacy CPU Water Block and Custom Kit Review - The Build and Finished Product

EKWB asked if we would like to see the Supremacy CPU water block and with it came a full kit. Let's take a look at all the new goodies.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 13, 2012 5:10 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: EKWB

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_71_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

The mounting plate for the back of the CPU to go ahead and start putting on the EK-Supremacy needs the outer section of rubber from the AMD/Intel back plate. This washer also needs lifted from this plate shown to the correct plate for my LGA1155 CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_72_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

With the washer on the motherboard, I aligned the LGA1155/1156 back plate. You can see it is more specific with the holes drilled for the socket retention screws. Now we need to flip the board over.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_73_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Grabbing the four white nylon washers and sticking them on the short end of the retention screws isolated the motherboard as you screw them down finger tight.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_74_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Once the screws are tight, add some of the TIM, set the block gently on the CPU and install the springs on the top of the block mounting bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_75_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

At this point you take the cover style thumb screws and in a cross pattern, you tighten all four of these until the threads stop. At this point the EK-Supremacy is ready for compression fittings and the rest of the kit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_76_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

I grabbed the radiator, reservoir, pump and the Supremacy and screwed the fittings into the threads without the threaded caps in place. This way I don't tighten them both and loosen a fitting trying to remove the caps.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_77_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

After a bit of tube cutting and some easy routing I filled the radiator and the reservoir and have already primed the loop and got rid of the major air trapped in the system.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_78_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

What I really like about all of this new kit with the plexi tops is that when you do run colored coolant like the EK-EKoolant, watching it run through all the components is actually pretty cool for a guy who has been using plain distilled water for years.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_79_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

With the pump active, the flow meter spins fast and you can see the water being forced across the front and most of the air is driven to the right with the flow. This is why if you are using that fitting to the right, it will take forever to bleed out the loop. I ended up on one of the center outlets as the air doesn't get to them near as easily.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4877_80_ekwb_ek_supremacy_cpu_water_block_and_custom_kit_review.jpg

 

Here is the full kit all assembled and running for the first time and with no leaks I might add. I do have to say this EK water cooling kit with the Supremacy, all of the CSQ components and the blue EKoolant matches the rig very nicely, I just hope it performs as well as it looks.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below