TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,079 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

BitFenix Prodigy Arctic White Mini-ITX Chassis Review - BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ITX Chassis

Ever since we saw this case in rendered images, we wanted to get our hands on it and finally BitFenix sent us the Prodigy Mini-ITX case for review.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 3, 2012 2:14 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: BitFenix

BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ITX Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_07_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of the Prodigy is dead flat with the large white expanse of SofTouch coated plastic offering you a single 5.25" bay with the cover in place now, the black logo at the bottom and the thick black ring around the edge with venting to allow for intake to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_08_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the top, between the pair of FyberFlex composite handles, is a large removable mesh panel to allow the chassis to ventilate passively in the configuration in which it is shipped.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_09_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under the front handle is a slide lock that will allow you to remove the mesh panel for access to mounting fans underneath of this.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_10_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

There isn't a deep well under the mesh, rather just enough room to take care of mounting fans or a radiator to the steel in the middle with the pre-drilled holes in it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_11_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The left side of the chassis offers a large ventilated area with the pattern of small round holes. You will soon see why this is in place, as it allows the video card you select to draw in fresh cool air to keep temperatures down inside of the Prodigy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_12_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the Prodigy you get an idea of the internal layout. There is a 120mm or 140mm fan mounting position above the rear I/O area. To the right is a pair of expansion slots with the PSU being mounted at the bottom if this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_13_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the chassis is plain white steel; that is until you run into the front I/O panel at the front edge of the panel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_14_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front I/O offers white power and reset buttons to blend into the chassis. Next to the headphone and microphone jacks are the power and HDD activity LEDS, leaving the pair of SuperSpeed USB 3.0 ports to end the list.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4872_15_bitfenix_prodigy_arctic_white_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

I mentioned that the FyberFlex handles absorb shock delivered to the chassis. They are not only the handles on top, but they are the feet for the chassis as well. On the floor of the chassis there is a removable and washable dust filter for the PSU and six screws for the HDD rack that I will get to later.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below