TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,978 Reviews & Articles | 38,627 News Posts

Corsair Air Series AF and SP Cooling Fans Review - Corsair Air Series SP120 Quiet Edition Fans

Corsair brings forth a plethora of new case cooling fans. Let's have a look at what they are offering.

| Cooling Fans in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 23, 2012 5:25 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Air Series SP120 Quiet Edition Fans

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_25_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Moving into light blue and black packaging now for the Quiet Edition of the SP120 helps you discern from the two parts of the series. Surprisingly, the static pressure isn't listed right on the front with the RPM and 23 dBA noise rating.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_26_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

If you look at the CPU cooler you can see the SP120 mounted to it in the build image while the bottom shows the same three specifications as the front does.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_27_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Splitting the packaging open again shows the SP120 insides the chassis on the AIO radiator with three features of the fan in the images that run across the bottom. On the right you get a look at an oddly plain seven blade fan with really wide blades.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_28_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

On the back Corsair tells you that the wide blades are what brings in the higher levels of static pressure and where you may want to use them. Even though this is a quiet solution, the SP120 QE has a higher static pressure rating that all of the AF120 and AF140 fans.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_29_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

To simplify things I only grabbed one of the hardware kits. Here you get the three color rings, the paperwork and the bag of screws with the low voltage adapter in it. You do get two sets like this in this twin pack.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_30_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Once I removed both fans I realized I have two different designs. Connecting and running them, I verified the RPMs and the flow seemed on point in the testing. Other than the hub difference around the hydraulic bearing in the SP series and the lack of stickers, I can't really say what happened here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_31_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

The fan with the blue ring on it even lacks the manufacturer sticker on the fan frame. As for the other fan, it corresponds to the model number on the box.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_32_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Even on this side of the fan with the individual numbers applied to the fan frames, both numbers are a match. I am assuming there was either a last minute design change to the ribbed hub or I got a test fan that wasn't meant to be in the retail packaging.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases