TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,805 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Corsair Air Series AF and SP Cooling Fans Review - Corsair Air Series AF120 Quiet Edition Fans

Corsair brings forth a plethora of new case cooling fans. Let's have a look at what they are offering.

| Cooling Fans in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 23, 2012 5:25 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Air Series AF120 Quiet Edition Fans

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_15_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the AF120 QE fan looks much like that we saw for the AF140. The most obvious is that this is a slightly smaller package and that this shows it is a 120mm fan capable of 1100 RPM and 21 dBA. Of course this has a three year warranty as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_16_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

From the side you can see a rig with these fans applied and that we have now moved into the "œtwin packs" Corsair sent me. As far as the information goes, this is the same as what we find on the front.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_17_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

The twin packs open up to expose one of the fans while giving you another view of them in a chassis along with the three features in the images at the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_18_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

The back offers a few words explaining the AF120 series, repeated five times in other languages, with a specifications chart to show you what separates the AF120 QE over other fans in the series.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_19_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Since this is a twin pack you get six color rings, three for each fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_20_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

You also get two full sets of the product guides, the "œStop" literature and the pair of hardware bags with screws and low voltage adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_21_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

I stacked the fans to try to give you a couple different angles to see the isolation material that Corsair stuffs into each corner of the fans.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_22_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Since I didn't show it last time, there are holes in each corner of the fans to accept tabs from the color rings. There are pretty easy to get out and swap, but secure enough that operational speeds of the fans will not vibrate them loose.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_23_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

We have stepped down from the 11 blades of the AF140 to now nine blades in the AF120 QE. The ultra thin blades still allow for good air movement, but little on the end of static pressure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4866_24_corsair_air_series_af_and_sp_cooling_fans_review.jpg

 

Another thing I have been checking along the way is whether or not all of the part numbers found on the manufactures sticker do in fact match the packaging. This way I can be sure I am testing the right products as well as being sure there wasn't any mix-ups at the factory.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases