TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,229 News Posts

Matias Tactile Pro 3.0 Mechanical Keyboard Review - Matias Tactile Pro 3.0 Continued

The tag line of "the best Apple keyboard ever made" is something I had to see for myself. Stick around and have a look at the Matias Tactile Pro 3.0 mechanical keyboard.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 7, 2012 5:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Matias

Matias Tactile Pro 3.0 Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_20_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the Tactile Pro 3.0 onto its face you get to now see the underside of the board. The clear spots you see aren't drainage holes, but rather where the pins run through the guts of the keyboard to keep everything lined up.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_21_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

On the front edge of the keyboard the Tactile Pro uses these white rubber pads found on both sides to keep this in place at your desk.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_22_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

In the back you have the option to raise the clear plastic feet for a more ergonomic angle of use. While they are folded in the keyboard rests on the raised bit that would surround the foot if it was lying down.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_23_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the back feet extended the board raises three quarters of an inch at the foot and just over an inch at the back to present the keys for easier access and use.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_24_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I don't think Matias would suggest you do this, but to open up the keyboard you must first gently work around the edge of the keyboard with a small screwdriver to release the clips. They are pretty delicate and I can see impatience here resulting in broken clips.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_25_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the cover out of the way we can now get a look at what is going on inside. The Top Board is where all of the signals are relayed and where all of the voltage control and functionality of the USB 2.0 hub is contained.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_26_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To get the steel frame out of the bottom half of the keyboard I had to first unplug the USB ports off of both ends of the PCB. I can't stress this enough, parts in here can be easily broken and if you are this far into a tear down, there better have been a beer spilled or a bag of dust poured into your keyboard to need to get this deep.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_27_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

There isn't any drainage or a quick way to remove debris, but to ease your mind, the switches are tightly fit as they rest against the steel plate and are essentially sealed if you get to it quick enough and you can see the steel does roll over the PCB to aid in this not shorting out either.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4858_28_matias_tactile_pro_3_0_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

We saw the side of the Alps Tactile switches, but here you can see them and the backs of the keycaps. It is easy to distinguish these against the cross shaped Cherry switches, but these are by far the loudest keys if you don't stop at the mid-point of the switch where the resistance is greatest.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases