TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,908 Reviews & Articles | 38,054 News Posts

SteelSeries Sensei [RAW] Laser Gaming Mouse Review - RAW

The Sensei gets stripped to its essentials with the release of the Sensei [RAW]. Get your game on without all the "professional gaming"Ě clutter and a cheaper price.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 31, 2012 5:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: SteelSeries

Inside the Sensei [RAW]

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_17_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After gently removing the feet from the bottom of the mouse, I gained access to four screws that I removed to open the Sensei [RAW]. I don't advise you do this, but if you do be wary of the short ribbon cable that runs from the top of the mouse to the main PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_18_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Looking towards the back of the mouse you can see the A9500 marking on the laser sensor alluding to the Avago ADNS-9500's use inside of the [RAW].

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_19_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Looking up the MC9508JM16 brings you to white papers telling you about this MCU and its USB 2.0 capabilities and its 16-bit processing. This is the component that "talks"¬Ě to the switches and PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_20_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right and left click buttons both use the D2FC-F-7N(10M) Omron switches that offer a ten million click lifespan and should give you years of functionality.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_21_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The black PCB you saw in the top half of the mouse is what I am showing you here, it's just the top side of it was brown. These are the switches that allow the side buttons and the CPI buttons to function and via the six strand wire, communicate with the MCU and then the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_22_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

For these buttons, SteelSeries has moved to TTC micro switches to do the work on this section of the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_23_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Once I got the Sensei [RAW] all back together it was time to check my work. When you first power up the mouse it offers you illumination with a "¬úbreathing mode"¬Ě to the lighting. This is the 50% LED illumination, which is the lowest you can set unless you want the light off all together.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4857_24_steelseries_sensei_raw_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Moving the slider for the LED controls in the software to the maximum setting of 100% gives you a bright logo and an even brighter light coming from the center of the scroll wheel. As for the LED denoting the CPI profile, I am on the default profile for this image, hence why it is not illuminated.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases