TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,780 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

ASRock Z75 Pro3 (Intel Z75) Motherboard Review - ASRock Z77 Pro3 Motherboard

We have a look at our first Intel Z75 based motherboard and see how it differs to the Z77 chipset from a performance point of view.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 1, 2012 5:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: ASRock

ASRock Z77 Pro3 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_06_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Having a look at the board you can see it's pretty much identical to the Z77 Pro3 we looked at the other day. We've got that pretty bland color scheme going on and you can see it's not a huge board. Let's move in a bit closer, though, to see what exactly we're dealing with here today.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_07_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in closer you can see on the right we've got two older legacy PCI slots while on the left hand side we've got a single PCIe x1 slot. Between these we've got two PCIe x16 slots with the top slot wired at x16 and the other being wired at only x4.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_08_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving across the bottom you can see the header line up starting with HD Audio, next to that we've got COM1, IR1, two USB 2.0, fan, main front panel and a speaker header sitting on the far right hand side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_09_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Just like the Z77 Pro3, the SATA ports are split up with four SATA II ports at the bottom running off the Intel Z77 chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_10_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we head to the north end of the board on the far left you can see we've got two more SATA ports present. These two are grey and are both SATA III compared to the SATA II black ones present towards the bottom of the board. We've also got a front USB 3.0 header, main 24-pin ATX power connector and fan header while above all this we've got four DIMM slots supporting up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 2800MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_11_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_12_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Across the top of the board you can see the main 8-pin CPU power connector, two more fan headers and moving back a little we get a better idea of what's going on with the CPU area which as you can see looks pretty clean.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4853_13_asrock_z75_pro3_intel_z75_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally finishing off with the I/O department we can see we start with two USB connectors along with a PS2 connector. Moving across we've got a VGA and HDMI port followed up with two USB 3.0 connectors, two more USB 2.0 connectors, gigabit networking via the Realtek RTL8111E controller and six auxiliary ports that run off the Realtek ALC892 codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases