TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,096 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

SilverStone Fortress SST-FT03B Mini Chassis Review - Inside the SST-FT03B

SilverStone saw the success of the original FT03 last year and decided to reduce the chassis size by half with the release of the FT03 Mini.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 14, 2012 3:56 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside the SST-FT03B

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_11_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the three panels that come off the chassis we are now looking into the chassis from the back. The I/O panel stays on the top and the rear panel also stays in place. As for the interior room, so far it is looking pretty roomy to me.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_12_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking into the chassis from what would be the right side, you can see one of the multi-function racks that are screwed in to the frame of the chassis. On this side of the rack you would mount an SOD02. Behind that plate is room for both a 3.5" drive and a 2.5" drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_13_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking into the FT03 from the front you can see how that drive rack on the right will line up with the slot on the face of the chassis. If you look closely you can see the little clip that will allow you to remove the fan cover for maintenance and cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_14_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

In front of the left panel or the one that does not remove, there is the motherboard tray with four risers mounted directly to the tray for DTX or Mini-ITX motherboard installation.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_15_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had mentioned there was a tray to allow a 2.5" drive to be mounted just below the motherboard and this tray is that. The thumbscrews release it so you can use the holes in the top and bottom rails to mount the drive into this and then use the thumbscrews to put it back into place once the drive is in it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_16_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here we have a look at the other side of the rack that runs on the right side of the FT03 Mini. This is where you have the access to place a 3.5" hard drive and a 2.5" hard drive if you should choose to populate all three bays.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_17_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the cover removed from the top we can now see the exhausting side of the FT03 Mini. Up here is room for the rear I/O on the left of the front I/O panel and both sit just above the pair of expansion slots, the right side has a smaller hole for a PSU than I am used to and that is due to the smaller stature requiring the use of a SFX form factor PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4825_18_silverstone_fortress_sst_ft03b_mini_chassis_review.jpg

 

The chassis wiring that stems from the top of the FT03 Mini consists of the four F-Panel wires. These are the power, reset, power LED and HDD LED leads. You also get a native USB 3.0 20-pin connector and an HD Audio connector. Also there is no issue if the board you are going the use doesn't have USB 3.0 on it, SilverStone also sent an adapter to turn USB 3.0 into a USB 2.0 connection.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases