TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,683 Reviews & Articles | 36,171 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Thermaltake Frio Extreme CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Now that we saw what their AIOs can do, let's move back to air cooling and see the Thermaltake Frio Extreme this time.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 12, 2012 2:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_24_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get there we ran the threaded screw through the board, installed black plastic risers that thread onto the screw. Then you just grab the appropriate top brackets and use the large nuts to mount them to the rest of the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_25_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back plate is some sort of composite more than it is plastic. When I dropped it accidentally, it sounded like a metal plate. When I took my knife to it to scratch and see what it was made of, it felt gritty, but cut much like a tough plastic.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_26_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the cooler now mounted to that hardware with the addition of a cross bar mounting system with a screw already in each end. That allows you to grab the four tabs on the base to hold the cooler against the CPU. Even though the cooler had the correct pressure, I was still able to rotate the cooler about 3-5 degrees in both directions.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_27_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Memory is going to be an issue with this cooler for sure. While the cooler clears things pretty well, you can see I really had to push the fan far above the top of the cooler to get it to install with even these naked memory modules that I use.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_28_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this point I went ahead and added the two 4-pin connections from the pair of fans to the top and I ran the single 4-pin extension cable from the CPU fan header on the motherboard to the bottom of the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_29_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this angle you can see that the body of the cooler is absolutely no issue at all, but if you are running large heat spreaders or any at all for that matter, you are going to lose a lot of that 106 CFM as it will blow right over the top of the cooler and ultimately make the height of this cooler an issue in some cases once installed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4824_30_thermaltake_frio_extreme_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Backing up quite a bit to look at the whole motherboard and cooler together, it shows that there aren't issues with the expansion slots, I can get access to the 8-pin EPS plug and well, as for the memory area, we already know the story there.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below