TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,152 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

MSI IN-623 Ravager Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Yet another chassis from the Interceptor series arrives. This time we look at the Ravager from MSI.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 12, 2012 3:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 84%      Manufacturer: MSI

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_27_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel to gain access to remove the bay cover and slide in the DVD drive showed me that the power lead and the Molex pass-through connections are for of course the power button and LED lit ring around it. You also now have access to remove the snap on dust cover from the intake fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_28_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The drive is in and only secured with the blue clip on the left side. Even so the drive is very secure and lines up well. The choice to use a textured plastic surface on the Ravager lends well to letting the optical devices to blend right in.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_29_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the Ravager everything went in well and fit like a glove. Even with the drive bay out I was still able to do a clean looking build hiding most wiring from the front of the case leaving plenty of room for the PSU wiring to do its thing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_30_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear I/O dust shield went in easily and the cards fit easily and line up well. The PSU gets four pads to set on in the floor of the Ravager that makes things tight, but I won in the end and got it secured in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_31_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since this was my second go at wire management, I tried to look at it from a different angle and give you some more ideas on where to run your wiring to keep things hidden and tidy. In reality, I had less of an issue pushing the panel over this wiring than I did with the Stealth; live and learn, I guess.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_32_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Closing up shop and getting ready to boot the system up I took a look at what we have created. The installation doesn't change the aesthetics much at all, but with so much going on already, that is a good thing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4813_33_msi_in_623_ravager_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Adding power the Ravager brings the front of the chassis to life with the glow of the blue ring around the power button and this time the LED fan works. There is a mellow blue glow that comes through the front and also dumps out onto the desktop a bit in front of it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below