TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,454 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Genius GX Gaming DeathTaker MMO/RTS Professional Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the DeathTaker and Powering the Mouse

Never seeing anything previously from Genius, we have no real expectations. Come have a look as we find out what Genius is all about with the Death Taker mouse.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 5, 2012 3:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Genius

Inside the DeathTaker and Powering the Mouse

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_20_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the large feet from the underside of the DeathTaker exposes four Phillip's head screws that once removed allows the mouse to split right open with relative ease. I also like that this is kept simple on the inside for those that may need to clean up a spill on the mouse or of the scroll wheel gets gummed up over time.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_21_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

On either side of the scroll wheel, Genius uses T-MEC switches for the right and left click buttons and much smaller, brown, round switches for all of the other seven buttons found in the DeathTaker

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_22_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Google the A9500 on the chip and it does in fact bring you to the Avago ADNS-9500 Sensor we have seen in other mice I have reviewed. Aside for the power management and surface mount LEDs is the memory IC that allows the storage of up to 55 Macros on the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_23_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I put the mouse back together, but since I am showing the insides, I thought it was a great time to show the removable weight system used on the DeathTaker. To remove the cover I lifted the edge nearest to us in the image and the magnet let lose allowing the cover to pop right off exposing the rubber weight tray inside.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_24_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and installed all six of the weights into the DeathTaker at this time, I figured I can always remove them for testing later.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_25_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Things are a bit snugger for the return fit into the mouse, but that to me is a good thing. You don't want 27 grams of weight shifting around on you as you swing the mouse around in any game. Now all we have to do is snap the cover back on and power up the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4803_26_genius_gx_gaming_deathtaker_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

On its first powering the lights were red and pulsating in a breathing mode. I had to shut down the test rig for a moment and when it powered back on I was greeted with the white backlighting you can see here. The color at the moment is just one of the options of the sixteen million color choices you can make the GX gaming logo and scroll wheel.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases