TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,667 Reviews & Articles | 36,021 News Posts

Zalman CNPS14X Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler Review - Zalman CNPS14X Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler

Zalman enters with a new dual tower CPU cooler design with the single fan cooled CNPS14X Ultra Quiet cooler.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 28, 2012 6:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Zalman CNPS14X Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_08_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking onto the CNPS14X from the intake side of the cooler you can see the six 6mm heat pipes get evenly spaced across the 45 fins. Also there is not a fan shipped for the front of the cooler, it's in the middle.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_09_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the side you can definitely see the dual tower design. The U-shaped pipes have a thin stack of fins slid on them and the 135mm fan included with the cooler is pre-installed between them. That's right, not that it is a huge deal, but there is not a 140mm fan in this cooler, but I guess CNPS13.5X looks a bit funny.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_10_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back of the cooler looks exactly as the front does, just this time we see the 4-pin PWM fan connection and wiring laying on this side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_11_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at it from the top, you first notice the black center cap that supports the towers spacing while also leaving room for the Zalman logo and CNPS14X seen on it. The fins have a very unique shape to them and all fins in the tower have the same designs embossed in them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_12_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This shot was to show two things. One that the fins do in fact all have the designs embossed on them and the second was to show that there isn't solder on these fins, they are simply press fit over the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_13_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I was looking at how to remove the fan to show it to you and ran into the top plate that reminds me very much of the old 9500 I used to run. Back to the point, you don't have to remove these screws; there is a much simpler way to remove the fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_14_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Be removing the screws for mounting the brackets to the base, the entire top plate and fan assembly come right out. Do note that the top black cap must also be removed. Either way it shows the model number of this Zalman fan and it is clearly a 135mm by 25mm fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_15_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the top plate was out of the way, I thought I may as well give you a look at the sintered heat pipes as they are soldered to the copper base plate.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_16_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for that copper base, well it is milled level, but the surface has fine curved milling lines from manufacturing. Also notice that the copper has gotten quite oxidized just in the time it took to arrive to me in the last month since its release.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below