TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,079 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper SLC 120GB Solid State Drive Review - SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper SLC 120GB SSD

Just when you thought Chris looked at every SSD available, he flies to Asia to take on the European and Asian markets.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jun 25, 2012 7:28 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: SuperSSpeed

SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper SLC 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_08_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Just like the outside box, the S301 also uses the MLC model's case and this may change when SuperSSpeed gets closer to retail.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_09_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The outside looks just like a typical SSD, nothing special outside, but like always, it's what's on the inside that counts. The 000000 serial number means this one will make it to my wall of special parts after it's retired from my notebook.Given this is real premium SLC flash the chances of me wearing the drive out is non-existent since current SLC flash will last under normal consumer conditions for something like thirty years.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_10_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The case has the standard mounting points on the side and on the bottom of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_11_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data points are where they should be on a 2.5" form factor drive. Here we see the drive in the included desktop adapter bracket. Note that the bracket has a lip so you won't be able to use it in a drive sled with a backplane. Also, the drive is not offset to the left side so the electrical connectors won't like up with a backplane either. We do really like the dual drive design since it makes installing two drives faster and doubles our potential SSD density per PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_12_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

On this side of the PCB we see the LSI SandForce SF-2281 flash processor unit and a few surface mount components. On the label we see this drive has firmware 5.0.1. If you follow the reviews here at TweakTown, you know this firmware and its successor 5.0.2 have an issue with TRIM. We'll talk more about that in the review.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_13_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The majority of the components are on this side of the PCB. Most of the power regulation is found here and that beautiful Intel 25nm SLC flash is here too. There are eight flash chips in total, 16GB each.

 

There is an interesting notation at the top left of the PCB in this image, Blackbird. Most likely this is a code name. Google wasn't any help when we searched.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4790_99_supersspeed_s301_hyper_slc_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Intel 25nm SLC flash... Gentleman, start your engines!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below