TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,674 Reviews & Articles | 36,066 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 Motherboard

Not the first name that comes to mind when buying a motherboard, we see what BIOSTAR is doing with the Intel Z77 chipset.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 19, 2012 5:46 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: BIOSTAR

BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_06_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Pulling the motherboard out of the box I have to say that the BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 looks pretty good. We've got an all-black PCB along with a mainly black theme throughout the board with a few orange highlights being present.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_07_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Having a look at the expansion slots we can see three PCIe x16 slots present with the bottom most one running at x4. If the top two are used in SLI or CrossFire, they'll run at x8. Along with these we've got a single PCIe x1 slot and two older legacy PCI slots.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_08_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Across the bottom there is the normal line up of fan headers and USB 2.0 headers alongside a power, reset and clear CMOS button. We've also got the main front panel header connector on the far right and sitting above the bottom most PCIe x16 slot you can see we've got a USB 3.0 header.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_09_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA ports with four SATA II ports running off the Intel Z77 chipset and two SATA III ports running off the same chipset. The additional two ports are also SATA III and they run off the ASMedia ASM1061 chip. Also here below the SATA ports you can see a LED debug reader that makes troubleshooting any issues easier.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_10_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading up to the north end of the board we've got a fairly standard setup here with the main 24-pin ATX power connector. Above that you can see we've got four DIMM slots which support up to 32GB of DDR3 at speeds ranging from 1066MHz to 2600MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_11_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_12_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Having a look around the CPU area you can see we've got an 8-pin CPU power connector located a little deeper back in the motherboard while we also get a chance to have a look at the heatsink setup around the CPU area. The orange and black scheme looks really good and like most motherboards these days the CPU area is really clean meaning most heatsinks shouldn't be an issue.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4780_13_biostar_tz77xe4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish up with the I/O side of things and we start off with a PS2 port and two USB 2.0 headers. Next to that we've got a bunch of video connections in the form of DisplayPort, HDMI, VGA and DVI. Moving across we've got two USB 3.0 ports, eSATA, two more USB 2.0 ports and a Gigabit networking via the Realtek RTL8111E controller. Finally we finish off with six auxiliary ports that run off the Realtek ALC898 HD Audio codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below