TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,758 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

BitFenix Shinobi XL Window Version Full Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

BitFenix adds another stylish and featured-packed addition to its chassis line-up with the Shinobi XL full tower case.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 15, 2012 3:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_30_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Something is amiss dimensionally in the ODD bays. This has to be the toughest time I had not only trying to slide the drive in the metal frame, but I also found the tool-less latches used screws that were too long as well. I eventually got the drive in and to be honest the front of the Shinobi XL looks really good.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_31_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had absolutely no issues inside of the chassis with my time in the XL. Since I use an SSD, I removed the FlexCage and mounted my SSD to the floor of the ODD bays. This case is really large and this ATX build with the HIS Radeon HD 7950 are made to look tiny inside of the Shinobi XL.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_32_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis also offered no issues with the rear I/O plate, the mounting of the card or even the PSU, everything went smooth as silk.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_33_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I dug into my stash of zip-ties and went to town with the wire management behind the motherboard tray as I said I was going to. With all the room and what seem like limitless tie points, I had a great experience making it as clean as possible - BitFenix makes it so easy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_34_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

For those wondering what sort of view the window offers once the build is completed; here you have it. The window is as large as it can be without making you look at the drive bays and I like that it isn't a basic square, the little touches are what add up in the end.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_35_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is last look at the completed BitFenix Shinobi XL before I add power and put it through the paces.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4757_36_bitfenix_shinobi_xl_window_version_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once power is added there is hardly any noise audible from the range of taking this image, I had to be within six inches of the case to hear anything and I am pretty sure it is the 120mm fan since I could only hear noise from the back of the Shinobi XL. As for the lighting, well there is only the HDD activity and the power LED that illuminate with bright blue LEDs at the top of the chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases