TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,150 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 2 Dual Tower CPU Cooler Review - be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 2 CPU Cooler

Let us introduce you to be quiet!'s twin tower design, the Dark Rock Pro 2 CPU cooler.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 11, 2012 5:43 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: be quiet!

be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 2 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_08_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the front it seems the 120mm SilentWings fan selected to act as the main intake is a bit undersized. Compared to the 135mm on the Dark Rock 2, this doesn't seem to cover the fins near as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_09_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking from the side I see it was used to leave more room for the memory since the dual-tower design will use up a lot of room around the CPU socket region. After the first tower and before the second, a 135mm SilentWings fan is used to give air an extra push as it makes its way through both stacks of fins.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_10_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The exit side of the Dark Rock Pro 2 is flat and pretty plain. So instead I would rather point out that without a bit of creativity, you can't add a third fan; and did you get a look at all of those heat pipes?

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_11_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top has a similar cover to the Dark Rock 2, just this time it is slightly larger and has a different offset for the caps that cover where the seven heat pipes pass through each tower. As you can see they help keep the air in the middle of the cooler with the chevron pattern of the pipe layout.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_12_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The safety sticker is blocking the view a bit to actually see the solder bits as the pipes leave the base, but you can see that each fin uses a pressed on fit to secure the fins to the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_13_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base is very flat and so smooth that I couldn't pick up on any milling marks. In fact the base on the Dark Rock Pro 2 seen here is much more level across the entire surface with very minimal deviation towards the extreme edge of this base. We saw a little deviation with the Dark Rock 2, but not here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_14_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There is definitely some more hardware available to use with this cooler, but for my purposes I went ahead and installed the LGA1155/1156 brackets so that I am ready for the next stages of installation. Everything but the screwdriver is provided in the hardware kit to fit even some very old sockets right on up to the latest FM1 and LGA2011 motherboards.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4753_15_be_quiet_dark_rock_pro_2_dual_tower_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the fan removed you can see that the saw-toothed pattern isn't lost in this design. While the cut into the fins may not be as deep in the middle as we saw with the Dark Rock 2, both towers have this cut and any bit helps to disturb the air and make the air passing through pick up more heat.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below