TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,060 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

InWin X-Frame Limited Edition Open Air Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

InWin goes high-end and delivers their take on what an open air chassis is supposed to be.

| Open Air Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 7, 2012 6:46 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: InWin

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_27_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since this X-Frame is going to be used on my test rig and I need easy access to get to the motherboard and the motherboard tray to get coolers in and out quickly, I chose to go with seven pin-style risers that allow the motherboard to come right off, with only two on the outer edge to keep the motherboard on the tray.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_28_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

All I had to do at this point was mounting a CPU cooler and set the motherboard into place. Adding the two screws into the board along with the two holding in my video card, I can't see anything moving too much for my purposes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_29_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

As for the drives or devices you wish to add to the X-Frame, simply find the appropriate hardware on the included tray and mount the screws to the devices so that they will slide into the rails.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_30_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

I guess I could have gotten more creative than to hang my SSD from one side, but it was done to express how much this chassis could use an adapter for them. On the right I had no issues with installing the optical drive or the fan controller that I use for testing various things.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_31_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Installing the PSU was tricky as one of the three screws is behind the frame of the chassis. A short screwdriver or a pair of pliers will get any rough start of the threads on their way to being able to use them with your fingers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_32_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point I did a bit of basic wiring. I ran the cables in their general areas, then with a few install and removals of the tray, I found a way to route each wire and strap it to the chassis when I found it needed it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_33_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

That's where we are here. The wires have been run and tied to the chassis so that I can bundle the excess in the frame instead of having wires hanging out all over. The only wiring I didn't tidy up was the 24-pin and the GPU power leads, as they weren't quite long enough to need it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases