TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,917 Reviews & Articles | 38,119 News Posts

InWin X-Frame Limited Edition Open Air Chassis Review - Packaging

InWin goes high-end and delivers their take on what an open air chassis is supposed to be.

| Open Air Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 7, 2012 6:46 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: InWin

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_02_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

This may look a bit dishevelled, but this packaging in reality is a double box. InWin wanted to be sure I had a presentable package for this review as well as adding another layer of protection to this expensive limited edition chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_03_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of the box features Limited Edition written in script above the X-Frame naming. The grey boxes at the bottom denote features like USB 3.0, an open frame, metal handles and its ROHS compliance along with others.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_04_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Spun around to the right, this panel offers the InWin logo with their name and tag line at the top. The middle offers the name and type of the chassis and the bottom offers the site address to look at this chassis a bit more in depth before purchase or to get support after.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_05_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

This panel may actually be the front and not the back, but either way this panel is kept simple with just a large X on the panel with the word frame under it and a small InWin logo in the top right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_06_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

The left side panel is where you will find the specifications of the chassis on the left and on the right are five key features of the InWin X-Frame.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_07_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

I have to think that my packaging is a bit on the pre-release side of the process of going to full retail. Inside of the box surrounding the chassis is a mix of low density and high density foam with Styrofoam peanuts taking up all of the awkward voids left in the box.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4750_08_inwin_x_frame_limited_edition_open_air_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once all of the various foam pieces were removed, I pulled the chassis out of the box. InWin was nice enough to ship the chassis in a tough cloth liner to keep abrasions down, but also kept all of those odd foam pieces from working into the openings of this open air chassis in transit.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases