TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,062 Reviews & Articles | 38,962 News Posts

ARCTIC MC001-BD Entertainment Center PC with Blu-ray Player Review - Accessories and Documentation

Want an HTPC that is sleek, silent and pretty much plug and play? Then we suggest you look at what the ARCTIC MC001-BD offers.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Jun 6, 2012 4:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ARCTIC

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_22_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

The fist bit of paperwork I found in the kit shows you all the ways you should NOT set your MC001 up for operations under any circumstances. There is the obvious don't set it in sunlight or next to magnets, but they also advise not removing the base to lie this on any side either.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_23_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

Then of course you have the quick start guide that will walk you through the basic connectivity and the initial boot of the OS and how to navigate to a functional running machine with only a choice of language, name and password needed to be entered to get underway.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_24_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

There are also great images and lists explaining each of the connections both front and back of the MC001-BD. So if there are any issues with the step-by-step instructions you can refer here to see where the cable goes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_25_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

If you don't currently have cable to use with the TV tuner, there is this aerial antenna that plugs into the back of the MC001-BD. There is also the screw type antenna for the wireless b/g/n that will point in almost any direction to gain better signal if needed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_26_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

ARCTIC also sends along their branded HDMI cable to run from the HDMI out on the MC001 to the TV it will be setting next to for full clarity in both video and audio.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_27_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

For some reason or another I received the EU version of the MC001-BD. If you are in the US, there is a US model with a correct power cord for us, but since I had an adapter from an HD stream box review, I can just use that and get underway.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_28_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

Lastly you receive a copy of CyberLink BD Solution 3D to allow you to be able to run all of the 3D Blu-ray titles you may have. Trying to be the end all be all solution, I can see where 3D coverage is needed to complete the package.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases