TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,672 Reviews & Articles | 36,052 News Posts

Pioneer Elite X-SMC4-K Music Tap Network Audio Player Review - The Remote and Display

For the last five years we've banged the NAS drum for their DLNA capabilities. Today we look at DLNA from the other end of the spectrum.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Jun 5, 2012 4:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: Pioneer Electronics

The Remote

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_18_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

I have three Pioneer Elite receivers, two Elite Blu-Ray players and an Elite plasma display spread through my home so the X-SMC4-K remove felt right at home in my hand. Pioneer uses the same basic layout for most of their modern products. For the asking price of nearly $480, the remote should have shipped with a function display like the SC-37 receivers did.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_19_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_20_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_21_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The remote gives you full access to the unit so you don't want to lose it or getting to menu items like Set Up will be tricky.

 

 

The 2.5" Display

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_22_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

There are actually two displays on the unit that provide information. The first is a red LCD system that greats you when the system is first powered on. This also becomes a time display.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_23_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The 2.5" LED display provides a nice experience with its full color output.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_24_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The menu system works well on this limited sized display and is typical Pioneer. If you have a Pioneer AVIC system in your car you are already familiar with the basic layout and how to navigate.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_25_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Your docked iPod or iPhone acts as a third screen. The remote moves the highlighted areas on the display, which is a feature I thought was nice.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below