TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Pioneer Elite X-SMC4-K Music Tap Network Audio Player Review - Pioneer Elite X-SMC4-K Music Tap

For the last five years we've banged the NAS drum for their DLNA capabilities. Today we look at DLNA from the other end of the spectrum.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Jun 5, 2012 4:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: Pioneer Electronics

Pioneer Elite X-SMC4-K Music Tap

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_07_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Music Tap. The speakers are attached and not removable. The screen measures right around 2.5 inches diagonal. The height is less than 9 inches and the width is right around 21 inches. When keeping a 2 inch gap for the power cables between the unit and the wall, the X-SMC4-K is right around 8 inches from the wall and that moves closer to 10 inches with the iPod dock door open.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_08_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_09_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Here we see the iPod dock door closed and open. Your iPod or iPhone just slide right in without any fuss.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_10_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Given that several of these Music Tap systems will be used in kitchens it would of been nice for Pioneer to trim some of the fat on the door and slim things down.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_11_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Three front ports are also located at the bottom left. The first is a USB port, but it is not a 'quick charge' 2 Amp port, it only supplies 500mA of power, so it won't charge your iPad or charge your phone as quickly as the NewerTech Power2U that we reviewed earlier in the month... another kitchen upgrade.

 

A headphone port is also located on the lower left corner as is a 2.5mm auxiliary input for your Zune or other audio devices.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_12_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Several function buttons are located at the top of the unit. The all-important power button is located at the far left.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_13_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Then function, BT audio selector and Air Jam.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_14_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

Further to the right are the play and stop buttons as well as volume control.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_15_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The back is basic enough with all of the wire connectors in a cluster. The Bluetooth model is built inside with a flush door that covers the module.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_16_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The wired cluster has jacks for a FM antenna (included), 10/100 Ethernet, composite video out and finally the power brick.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4747_17_pioneer_elite_x_smc4_k_music_tap_network_audio_player_review.jpg

 

The Bluetooth module was already installed in our unit.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases