TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,922 Reviews & Articles | 38,164 News Posts

Newer Technology Power2U (USB Wall Power) Review - Power2U Installation

Because looking for a charger can be a pain in the backside. Newer Technology come to the rescue with its USB wall power outlet kit.

| Powerline in Networking | Posted: Jun 1, 2012 10:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Newer Technology

Power2U Installation

 

Before we get started remember a few things. The wire you'll be working with is solid core and can be difficult to bend the way you want. Take your time, installation isn't a race. Finally, SHUT THE POWER OFF AT THE BREAKER!!! If you are not comfortable with and knowledgeable about electronics, we highly recommend you hire a professional to do this work for you.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_17_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Welcome to my kitchen. This is the second outlet in a chain, the first one is a GFCI unit so the Power2U will be protected. In my install the box is much shorter than what the recommended specifications call for, but the additional depth provided by the 1/2 inch drywall and tile make up for the limitation. When installing the Power2U this way you should really wrap around the screws with electrical tape.

 

We ran into another issue with the installation. The inner box was offset to the right of the opening. To get around this we needed to file back the tile and grout to make the opening a little bigger and a little more uniform.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_18_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

There is an octopus coming from the wall! In this image you can see that the inner box is offset to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_19_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Here we are trying to make it fit before filing the tile back... it just isn't going to fit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_20_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

With the opening filed back and the wires secured again we are finally ready to proceed. The included screws for the outlet were a little too short for our installation so we used the old, longer screws from the previous outlet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_21_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Success! We are in and everything is lined up perfectly. If I had one complaint it is the paint on the screws. We didn't exactly use kid gloves, but we didn't use an impact driver either. Here you can see that the white screws scratch easily.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_22_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

With everything in place and our fingers crossed we flipped the breakers back on.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_23_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

We are charging!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases